Here I Stand

Today is Reformation Day. On October 31, 1517 Martin Luther nailed 95-Theses to the door on the Wittenberg Church, thus sparking the Reformation. Martin Luther is one of the most amazing figures in church history surely the kind of person you would want to have dinner with.

This quote below is part of his defense at the Diet of Worms where Luther was called to recant his positions. His boldness, conviction, and faithfulness to Christ is amazing. When asked “…Martin – answer candidly and without horns – do you or do you not repudiate your books and the errors which they contain?”

Luther replied:

Since then Your Majesty and your lordships desire a simple reply, I will answer without horns and without teeth. Unless I am convicted by Scripture and plain reason – I do not accept the authority of popes and councils, for they have contradicted each other – my conscience is captive to the Word of God. I cannot and I will not recant anything, for to go against conscience is neither right nor safe. God help me. Amen.

Rolland Bainton, author of the classic biography of Luther Here I Stand, says the earliest printed version added the words

Here I stand, I cannot do otherwise.

May we be so faithful to Christ and his Word that we show the same kind of boldness in the face of opposition. Soli Deo Gloria.

Leave a Reply

